Razor E300 electric scooter review: Razor E300 electric scooter lacks the features…

Just one more thing

To make the experience fit your profile, pick a username and tell us what interests you.

We found and based on your interests.

Related lists

Electric Vehicles Automotive Hacks

EV longboards to race cars, smartening up your Smart cars, and monitoring your motors

This project was created on 03/01/2016 and last updated 5 years ago.

Description

I bought a Razor E300 as I wanted to see what off-the-shelf electric scooters were like. They’re alright, but they’re let down by lead acid batteries. You get a scooter that’s heavy and slow. I wanted speed! I decided to switch to lithium power using only what I had on me. and I had a lot of fun in the process!

Details

I’ve been into electric scooters for a long time. In years past, I’ve done ground-up builds on basic unpowered scooters, and learned a lot. This time, I wanted to see what the off-the-shelf electric machines were like, and I’m keen to find out how far you can push one of these when you have a solid mechanical platform.

They’re fun enough, but they’re not exactly blazing fast. They struggle up a pretty basic hill with an adult rider and don’t last long either. Worst of all, they take a full 12 hours to charge. Yep. all of these failings come down to one thing. The lead acid batteries. Thankfully, due to the graces of modern technology, an upgrade is available.

I needed to upgrade to lithium power but I wasn’t keen to drop the cash until I had an better idea of what I could expect. Instead of buying new batteries and a speed controller, I decided to work with what I had. The stock speed controller and the two 18V 1.4Ah Ryobi lithium drill batteries I had already. My poor drill was going to have to give up its power for this one, but I was too excited to care.

Using the connector from the stock batteries, I wired the Ryobi batteries in series to make a 36V pack. I plugged everything in but initially, nothing happened! A bit of a twitch but no drive. I could hear a relay clicking every time I hit the throttle though. I delved deeper.

After tearing down the stock speed controller, I found the culprit. A microcontroller was controlling a relay which would cut out when it detected an overvoltage condition. That was easy enough to bypass. a simple heavy wire link across the relay terminals got things moving! But performance was still somewhat limited. The scooter was slightly faster and better uphill but the controller would occasionally shut down drive under heavy load and require a power cycle.

If you know what those weird jumpers do, PLEASE tell me! My curiosity is killing me. I should probably just trace where they go already.

I was very lucky. the manufacturer hadn’t ground the identification off any of the parts. There was some white goop but it came away easily enough. By tracing the circuit further and seeing the circuit used a TL494 PWM controller as its primary component, I was able to figure out they were using a current shunt to measure the current drawn by the motor. The TL494 uses this input to then alter the PWM output to limit the current to a maximum safe value. Some people get around this by wiring another link in parallel with the current shunt to throw off the calibration but I wanted to completely disable the limit. Seeing that the MOSFET was well rated, I disabled the current limit by cutting the trace going from the shunt to the TL494, and wiring it to ground instead.

Riding it like this is twice as dangerous, and twice as fun, too.

Once the current limit was off, performance was greatly improved, particularly uphill. Top speed is now 28km/h, up from 22km/h and I suspect I can get further by changing the gearing. I can’t wait to install a proper set of hardcore LiPos and do more mods! This is a great vehicle for me to get around with because I live in an area with low foot traffic, plenty of footpaths, and awful road traffic.

Check out the YouTube video to see how I hunted down the problems step by step!

Files

speed controller anatomy.png

Portable Network Graphics (PNG). 1.90 MB. 03/01/2016 at 10:17

anatomy.png

Portable Network Graphics (PNG). 1.35 MB. 03/01/2016 at 10:10

vlcsnap-error872.png

Portable Network Graphics (PNG). 2.46 MB. 03/01/2016 at 10:07

vlcsnap-error874.png

Portable Network Graphics (PNG). 1.58 MB. 03/01/2016 at 10:07

currentlimitbypass.png

Portable Network Graphics (PNG). 2.21 MB. 03/01/2016 at 10:07

Project Logs

Fast Scooters, the Easy (eBay) Way

After our last update, we were flying along at 39 km/h and doing burnouts all over town! But all great things must come to an end, including the poor MOSFETs we’d crammed into that stock speed controller.

This gave me a new opportunity. why not check out some of the off-the-shelf overvolt kits and see how they go with the ridiculous motor and battery setup? That’s exactly what I did!

Fundamentally, results were just okay. The overvolt controller from Fastscooters isn’t built to handle such a large motor and we only hit 26 km/h. That said, it’s an easy, accessible way to get into scooter mods, and that’s cool.

Naturally, we’re going to cram it full of fat MOSFETs and ruin the current limits. Watch this space.

Gearing. The Key to Speed

After our last outing, we knew we had the power, but we lacked the raw speed. What to do? Gear it, obviously! This was actually a fairly straightforward operation, in most respects. Parts were a little hard to come by. eBay came up short on sprockets, and without machining capability, I had to find the right ones elsewhere. Thankfully Alibaba came up with the goods and saved the day. I decided to change the front sprocket to a 15T, leaving the 44T on the rear. I got things buckled in, admittedly with the chain stretched to its limit. The first runs were not quite up to scratch. only 34 km/h. An improvement, but not enough. It was obvious we were wasting energy in the chain drive. the chain and the motor controller were both getting excessively hot and it was obvious it wasn’t going to stretch itself to a better fit. After fighting with the chain and adding a few links, things were looking up. I measured the scooter’s rear wheel diameter, and then sat the scooter up on bricks and ran the motor. Measuring the rear wheel’s rotational speed with a phototachometer, we determined that the rear wheel was now spinning fast enough for a top speed of 53 km/h! Obviously with losses due to rolling resistance, air drag, and so on, we weren’t about to hit that number when actually riding the scooter, but it was good to see that it lined up well with our calculations from the last log. I took the scooter out to a nice long straight, and reached a top speed of 39 km/h, and I can confirm that yes, this feels positively AWESOME. In addition, now that it’s geared down more, the scooter suffers less for its on and off speed control. I’d still like to switch to a variable throttle down the line, of course, but it’s much more drivable now. Oh, and if you were wondering, with a little WD40 to help? Yes. it’ll do burnouts. I’m really digging the scooter now that it’s properly quick, and I’m looking forward to flying around the neighbourhood carrying an entirely appropriate amount of speed. It’s now got me excited for the next scooter build.

Big motor for the Razor E300!

We still aren’t going fast enough. It’s time for MOAR MODS! Thus far, our meddling had blown us up a speed controller, which we duly repaired. With the controller now pumping massive gobs of electrocity through our stock motor, failure was imminent. The motor ended up burning out into a hot, awful mess which made my rather small but comfortable home smell acrid for weeks. I’m not even kidding. Weeks. The 36V badboy I enlisted for the build from eBay.

We needed to upgrade. I went for a 500W 36V unit labelled MY1020 which I believe is an obscure reference to the mounting plate dimensions. If you know more on that, let me know. There were issues from the get go. it simply didn’t fit. First to go was the kickstand. the mount was in the way of where FAT PRECIOUS MOTOR needed to be. It actually kinda sucked having to do this. the kickstand on this scooter was awesome. Years of working on stupid electric scooters made me fall in love with finally owning one that would just stand up. That said, I was tired of setting off with it down and then nearly stacking it when it impacted the ground at speed. Next up was the brakes. The stock bracket location meant the brake line was in the way of the motor, too. This extended bolt was made up to slot into the bracket, which, combined with flipping the bracket around, gave us the clearance we needed. Incidentally, we’d needed to shorten the sliding tube a little. The cordless-drill-come-lathe was the way to do it. Pictured: Cordless drill in lathe’s clothing Simply chuck the workpiece into the drill and spin away. Then have at it with whatever the most relevant tool seems to be. We used a flap disc on an angle grinder. You can do all sorts of dangerous imprecise machining this way!

The assembled brake assembly. This reroutes the brake cable nicely.

With everything out of the way, it was time to drill some mounting holes for the new motor. Straightforward enough on one side, but on the other, we had to fab up a special bracket to clamp the motor onto the mounting rail, as the rail itself wasn’t wide enough to meet up with the motor’s mounting faces. An unconventional solution but it should do the trick until I can weld something up later.Bolting up the motor to the frame. Clamping bracket not easily visible. Note the 44-tooth T8F sprocket fitted to the rear wheel.

With the motor in, it was then a matter of fitting the new T8F sprocket to the rear wheel. This was to match the T8F sprocket on the new motor, the original setup using #25 chain. Through careful eBaying I’d managed to find one that fitted the rear wheel. It’s never enough to just get one that looks right. you always have to check the measurements. Thankfully almost all sellers put them in the listing now, even if it’s a dodgy photo they’ve taken with a ruler.

The original gearing was 11T on the motor, with a 55T rear sprocket. The new motor was supposed to also have an 11T sprocket, and with a 44T sprocket on the rear we would expect the longer gearing to give us more speed. But I’d ignored something that should have been blatantly obvious. That, and the motor actually shipped with a 9T sprocket. This sort of thing is par for the course on eBay. Calculating the ratios is disappointing: Original: 55T rear, 11T front: 5:1 gear ratio New: 44T rear, 9T front: 4.9:1 gear ratio

That’s hardly any change at all! Oh well.

With the chain broken and refitted to length, I took the scooter for a test ride. After just 50 meters the chain came off! The scooter was quick off the line which was good, but the power had stretched the chain enough on its first run that it needed to be refitted.

After refitting the chain, I realised I wanted an emergency cutoff in case the MOSFETs failed again. I decided to press a 100A megafuse fuse holder into service. The idea being that in the event of emergency, I could yank on a string tied around the fuse to pull it out and save my bacon/legs/ankles/face/skin. The fuseholder with fuse YISHF (yank-if-shit-hits-fan) string. Read more »

Speed Controller Hax. Place your FETs!

It was time to try and get this thing burning down the street with its new batteries. We got to burning, at least. We definitely got to burning. Check out the video for the full story. Details below. Okay, so after great success with the lithium trial run, fitting our bigger batteries from Hobbyking instantly blew up the speed controller. When we dosed it with some hot, fresh amps, the FET was killed instantly. Most disappointing! Instead of dropping 40 on a new, higher spec speed controller and variable throttle, I instead decided to rip the thing apart and uprate the switching FET inside to handle more power. The speed controller, right, with the old blown IRFB3607, left. However, I had a problem. the IRFB3607 inside was rated to handle 80A 75V. That current rating is right around the theoretical limit for a TO-220 package as it is. 75-100A. Replacing it with another TO-220 wasn’t going to cut it. Instead, I had to get creative. I decided I’d go with parallel FETs to handle the strain. Modifying the heatsink and mounting hardware for parallel FET GOODNESS. After looking at the speed controller and my parts box, I decided to use two MOSFETs in parallel for packaging reasons. I chose the TK100E08N1, rated at 214A 80V. This is an example of the manufacturer rating the gate current capability of the silicon, ignoring the fact the device package can’t effectively handle in excess of 100A. I used a small piece of veroboard and modified the existing mounting hardware to fit the parallel FETs to the original heatsink. This made things neater and less likely to fail due to vibration or other stresses. Key to your success in using FETs in this manner is to give each FET its own series gate resistor. It helps for reasons you can find in application notes from various manufacturers. Oscillation is the biggest problem. I used a couple of SMD 10 ohm resistors I scavenged from an old hard drive. The parallel FET assembly. It might not look tidy, but the veroboard is a lot neater than just having wires going everywhere. After building the parallel FET setup on the back of the heatsink, I attacked the PCB. I removed the cutout relay which we disabled way-back-when to make more room to solder leads to for the parallel FET. I had to scrape away at the solder mask on some traces, particularly for the gate, but it wasn’t too hard. Reassembling the speed controller. The new FETs are a good fit and make excellent contact with the heatsink. After reassembling everything into the scooter, it was time to test. AND IT WORKED. IT WERKS! SORT OF. The scooter was initially incredibly quick, but quickly lost power. I couldn’t get close to the previous speeds I’d reached and there was a hot, burning smell. It was the motor. Me, glaring at the motor that just burnt me in dismay. At this point, I cannot warn you enough. DO NOT. UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES. TAKE A BURNT OUT MOTOR INSIDE YOUR HOUSE TO WORK ON. My lab space and kitchen STILL smell like fiery death a WHOLE WEEK LATER. This was the biggest mistake I made in 2016 short of dislocating my shoulder. I am not even kidding. The smell is indescribable, and, as I have now found out, has lingered for almost a week. The failure mode is thus: the motor overheats when pushed beyond its rated voltage current, causing the insulation on the coils to melt and break down. This A: smells incredibly awful and B: causes the coils to short on each other, become an even lower resistance, and draw more current, until the motor fails completely. Burnt. Awful. Sad. Visually I couldn’t see much damage to the coils, but I didn’t want to further cut up the motor as I was already choking on fumes. After 40 minutes out of the scooter the rotor was still hot to the touch. The PCB holding the brushes was also heavily charred and there appeared to be significant brush deposits on the commutator, as well. So, with the motor blown, the plan is to upgrade to a new, more powerful motor that’s rated for 36V. This leaves me in an uncomfortable. Read more »

The Big Battery Swap

After the remarkably successful test with the Ryobi drill batteries, I was ready to upgrade to a proper lithium pack. I specced a couple of 5 cell, 8 Ah badboys from Hobbyking, with which I’d build a 10S pack. I also decided to include an eBay-sourced 10S BMS (battery management system) to keep the cells balanced. I decided I’d use a pool noodle as source of cheap foam to mount the batteries safely and snuggly in the scooter frame. This worked great and it’s hard to lose for 3. Cutting the foam to size was remarkably easy. a sharp knife is all you need to carve away. I was stoked with how neat this turned out. The batteries are held in place really well. highly recommended! Next up it was time to do the wiring for the BMS. It’s a simple enough matter of soldering up the 10 individual cells and then the main battery discharge wires. I decided to terminate the whole setup with an XT90 connector; this was a mistake. Stick with the bullet connectors that come with the HK batteries. the XT90s aren’t suitable for such big discharge wires and the whole thing turned into a total mess. I also had to spec a 42V lithium battery charger from eBay; this one is sold for charging ebikes. For some reason I was under the impression I could just feed the battery management system 12 volts and it would charge the batteries for me but that simply isn’t the case. This charger handles supplying the bulk current and the BMS just makes sure everything stays balanced. With everything wired up, I went for a test run. I jumped on the scooter and pulled the throttle but nothing happened! I’d seen this already in the last episode. just like the speed controller before it, the BMS was current limiting. This time I took an alternate route around the problem. I fattened up the current shunt in order to reduce its resistance and confuse the BMS into delivering more power. This works because the circuit measures the voltage drop across a known resistance (the current shunt) to determine the current flow. Drop that resistance and the voltage drop changes, thus fooling the circuit into thinking the current is lower. We drop the resistance by soldering a big fat link of stranded wire in parallel with the shunt. So, how’d it go? not well! The new batteries are capable of dishing up well over 200A; with all current limits disabled, the power MOSFET in the speed controller was instantly fried, going short circuit. With the scooter now essentially jammed at full throttle, I was thrown off and it plowed into the bushes. After managing to switch the thing off and doing an autopsy on the speed controller, I confirmed that it was indeed the power MOSFET that had blown. A shame but not entirely unexpected, I suppose. So what to do next? Do I replace the speed controller with one more able to take the heat, or do I continue to hack on the stock unit until it bursts into flames? Keep an eye out. this isn’t over yet!

Razor E300 electric scooter review: Razor E300 electric scooter lacks the features to reach its potential

Razor‘s biggest electric scooter offers a comfortable ride, but a complete lack of amenities.

Wayne Cunningham reviews cars and writes about automotive technology for CNET’s Roadshow. Prior to the automotive beat, he covered spyware, Web building technologies, and computer hardware. He began covering technology and the Web in 1994 as an editor of The Net magazine.

Razor’s lightweight scooters burst onto the scene about 15 years ago, and you can still see people riding them down city sidewalks. But as those early riders have grown older, possibly they have gotten lazier, as Razor now offers a complete line of electric scooters.

Razor E300 electric scooter

The Good

Fat pneumatic tires give the Razor E300 a comfortable, stable ride, and its low price makes it a decent value proposition.

The Bad

The E300 is extremely basic, even lacking a battery charge indicator. The accelerator is difficult to modulate, and its chain drivetrain is very noisy.

The Bottom Line

By leaving off features such as a lock, lights or charge indicator, Razor misses an opportunity to make the E300 electric scooter a cheap transportation alternative, instead relegating it to leisure status.

The Razor E300 is the largest one in the lineup, capable of speeds up to 15 mph and able to support riders weighing up to 220 pounds. Because e-mobility has become a topic in transportation discourse, I decided to give the E300 a try.

The E300 that Razor sent me assembled easily, merely requiring a few minutes with a hex wrench to get the steering column attached. Tubular steel forms the frame and cables for accelerator and brake extend loosely from deck to handlebars. The deck itself is nice and wide, and includes some nonskid material on the surface. Razor hides two lead acid batteries in this thick deck, contributing to the 46-pound overall weight. Two pneumatic tires support the deck.

The look is pretty basic with little hints of style. For example, I like the brushed steel shell over the rear wheel, providing a convenient place to rest my foot. The power switch is down on the side of the deck, next to the charging port.

No lights, no lock

As for features, the E300 can claim very few. Other than its drive controls, brake and accelerator, there really are none. An electric motor mounted at the rear of the deck drives the rear wheel with a chain and simple reduction gear. Twist the right-handlebar accelerator and the E300 takes off. Pull the left-handlebar brake lever and it stops.

In this regard, the E300 fell down as a modern transportation alternative. Without any sort of charge indicator, I had no idea how much electricity I had left. Razor’s specs merely note that the E300 can run for about 40 minutes on a charge. Integrated lighting, such as LEDs in the front and rear, would have made the E300 safe to ride at night. As for parking, the E300 has a convenient kickstand, but there is no way to lock it up. The structure of the scooter lacks any sort of link or hole through which I could run a bicycle lock, which I guess would be a good excuse to ride it through the grocery store when running errands.

Plugging it in, I noticed that burning rubber aroma peculiar to charging lead acid batteries. My co-workers noticed it too, and suggested I keep this beefy little scooter in the garage. The E300’s wall adapter featured a little green light, which served as my only indication of a full charge.

Fast enough

Taking to San Francisco’s streets, I twisted the E300’s accelerator and was off. The torque from the motor was strong and immediate, but I had little control over acceleration. The accelerator didn’t offer much in the way of modulation, generally assuming an on or off state. When I wanted to ride at less than the maximum speed, I had to alternate between coasting and popping the accelerator. With that technique, the motor’s torque made the ride jerky.

Razor’s specs note that the E300 goes a maximum of 15 mph, but lacking a speedometer, I had no way to gauge my speed. It seemed fast enough that I would highly recommend wearing a helmet. That helmet would also mitigate the E300’s excessive noise. The motor and chain drive make a constant racket under acceleration.

The wide deck and plump tires made for a very comfortable ride. I took the E300 down rough asphalt and over the kinds of small potholes that dot typical city streets. Although there is no actual spring suspension built into this scooter, the tires nicely absorbed all the vibration.

Taking it up a moderate incline, the motor pulled reasonably well without bogging down. As for the range, it seemed likely it could go for a bit more than the advertised 40 minutes. I rode the E300 for almost an hour, often at full throttle, and it did not run out of power.

Value play

The Razor E300’s big tires make it a comfortable ride for city distances, and its batteries seem to offer a good amount of range. But this electric scooter misses the boat on all kinds of features that could take it from occasional toy to real transportation. The inability to lock it up limits its use for quick errands and the lack of a charge gauge has too much potential to leave you stranded, having to push this scooter the old-fashioned way.

The lead acid battery drivetrain is hopelessly primitive, and presents some serious problems. This type of battery has limited recharge cycles, so don’t expect the E300 to last more than five years. Likewise, store it for an extended period of time and the batteries will die.

The Razor E300’s saving grace is its price. Coming in at only 270 I wouldn’t expect much in the way of frills, and if it gave me a few years of easy transportation it makes a good value proposition.

Razor E300 Electric Scooter Review

If you’re looking for a fun and comfortable scooter at a low cost, the Razor E300 should be on your list.

A large deck and chunky tyres give a comfortable ride, and while it’s not the speediest or the most stylish scooter on the market, it’s aimed squarely at teenagers and young adults.

Razor E300 – The Lowdown

We don’t see many chain-driven electric scooters with a twist throttle, so the Razor E300 was a surprise that made us smile. Let’s start with the looks, you either love it or you don’t. It’s not particularly fashionable, but we like the wide deck and chunky tyres.

The motor is smooth and quiet, with no chatter from the chain. It’s a stripped back and simple design that makes this fun. There’s no Bluetooth, big display or complicated brakes, just a jump on and ride scooter designed for fun.

At this price, you can’t expect stupid speeds or long distances from this electric scooter, so the top speed of 15 mph (24km/h) and a max range of 10 miles (16km) is OK. On the road, the 19.5kg (43lb) weight melts away, with the scooter feeling easy to handle and a huge amount of fun.

So, who is it for? It’s certainly not designed for commuters or speed-seekers, but for teenagers and young adults who want a fun electric scooter that won’t break the bank.

Razor E300 Review Video

YouTube reviewer outie555 provides a refreshingly honest review of the E300 electric scooter. Check it out here.

Razor E300 Pros

Cheap price point for the scooter

It offers a massive deck and chunky frame

Big 9″ pneumatic tyres

Simple scooter that’s awesome to ride

Easy to maintain

Razor E300 Cons

15 mph (24km/h) top speed isn’t exactly hair raising

10 miles (16km) maximum range is low

12 hour charging time is pretty painful

You’ll either love the look or hate it…

Razor E300 Summary

At Electric Scooter guide we like to smash straight into the details, but with the E300 there’s not that much to go on. This is a scooter that’s stripped bare to provide the essential experience. It’s been around a few years, so the tech is tried and tested and it’s cheap too…

It’s aimed at kids, so Razor has had to build to a budget. That means it’s heavy, it’s large, it doesn’t fold and it’s missing the sort of extras we see on lots of other scooters, such as front and rear lights, a digital display, a front brake, and a decent folding mechanism. What you do get is a fairly fast, reliable and robust scooter that will deal with the bumps, scrapes and knocks it’ll get with a teenager.

At 15 mph (24km/h) you’ll not be too worried about letting your loved ones off the leash, and they won’t get far either with a maximum range of 10 miles (16km) – that’s around 40 minutes. That’s all fine, but we’re less impressed with the 12-hour charging time which means you’ll only enjoy a ride a day.

razor, e300, electric, scooter, review, lacks

The massive deck makes it a pleasant ride, with the chunky 9″ pneumatic tyres delivering a smooth and forgiving ride. That’s important, as younger riders may not have the confidence while riding.

So, the specs aren’t stupendous, but we like its bold looks. You can get the E300 in a range of big and brash colours. It’s certainly stands out among other electric scooters.

At this price (£350, 279.99) it’s a great deal. While it won’t fit into a stocking, Santa should be stocking up as this is sure to be a winner this Christmas.

Performance Overview

If you can tear it out of the box, you’ll notice that this scooter is big. But on the roads, it faded away to give a great road feel. The twist and go throttle may be a little different to the almost universal push-button throttle you’ll find on other scooters, but it’s easy to use.

So, what’s it like on the road? The answer is: a huge amount of fun. The big and bouncy 9″ tyres soak up the lumps and bumps (which they will need to, as there’s no suspension to speak of). The super-wide surfboard style deck is great and feels well planted.

OK, so we can’t shy away from the fact that this electric scooter is pretty slow. Acceleration is fairly sluggish. It takes a relaxed approach to hit its top speed of 15 mph (24km/h), which we could put down to the chain drive. Yep, you read that right, the rear wheel is driven by a chain, like a motorbike. Listen closely and you can hear the chain working, which sounds slightly different to the typical whoosh or whirr from a direct drive rear hub motor.

Razor reckons you can get a maximum distance of 10 miles (16km) on a full charge, and we won’t dispute that. Heavier riders or those who love to twist should expect less.

We’ve mentioned it before, but there are few extras here you’d expect to see on a commuter scooter. No lights, folding mechanism, digital display or front brake. So we’d not recommend riding at night. We can’t find an IP rating, either so don’t ride during the wet weather, or face scooter disaster.

But that doesn’t really matter, as this electric scooter isn’t targeted at those who want to battle traffic or smash the speed limit. It’s the perfect scooter for teenagers and young adults at an attractive price. It’s an ideal entry-level ride that will help you develop the skills you need to tackle and tame bigger, faster and even more fun scooters on the market.

What makes this an attractive package is the price. At just £350 (279.99) it’s cheap and that makes us very cheerful. Pick one up and you’ll not be disappointed.

Razor E300 review – perfect for kids, but can adults ride it too?

The Razor E300 is the perfect electric scooter for kids in many ways.

But, in the eternal words of my dad: “Aren’t adults allowed to have some fun as well? And turn off the darn lights when you go outside, what do you think I am, made of money?…”.

Razor E300 Review

The Razor E300 is one of the most well-known and trusted teen scooters, and for a good reason – it’s safe, durable, not too powerful, and affordable. Given its weight limit and dimensions, it can be a good choice for adults too, and while there are better adult choices out there, most of them are not as affordable or well-known as this one. The Razor E300 is great for kids/teens, and especially teens that may become young adults soon, and also a good budget choice for adults.

Let’s look at the Razor E300 from all angles, but also take a more holistic view, and see when it might be the perfect choice, either for your child or yourself.

  • Razor E300 Review
  • Razor E300 summary
  • The Razor company and brand
  • Ordering, shipping, and best prices
  • Warranty and return policies
  • Unboxing, assembly, user manual
  • How to use the Razor E300?
  • Folding and unfolding
  • Design, durability, quality, and build materials
  • Safety
  • Everyday use and ride experience
  • Top speed
  • Range
  • Climbing hills
  • Terrains and use cases
  • Water resistance
  • Lights and riding at night
  • Weight, dimensions, and portability
  • Weight limit
  • Rider age, children and adult usage
  • Motor, chains, power, and torque
  • Battery and charging
  • How to replace the battery on the Razor E300 electric scooter?
  • Seat
  • Razor E300 vs Razor E300S
  • Razor E300 vs Razor E200
  • Razor E300 vs GoTrax GXL Commuter
  • Razor E300 vs Xiaomi M365
  • Razor E300 vs Swagtron Swagger v1
  • Razor E300 vs Swagtron Swagger 5
  • Is the Razor E300 waterproof?
  • Is the Razor E300 reliable?
  • How fast is the Razor E300?
  • How long does it take for the Razor E300 to charge?
  • Do you charge a Razor scooter on or off?
  • Can you overcharge a Razor scooter?
  • How long does Razor E300 battery last?
  • How many batteries does a Razor E300 have?
  • Can the Razor E300 go up hills?
  • Is the Razor E300 a toy?
  • Can adults ride the Razor E300?

Razor E300 summary

The Razor brand has been here for a while. They are an American company founded in 2000, and are one of the first scooter brands to become famous and successful.

They make all kinds of rideables, both electric and classic ones, although scooters are their main product and FOCUS. They are arguably the most iconic brand of electric scooters for children and teenagers, so famous that even adults often choose their models.

They are a trusted name in the electric scooter industry, with their own proprietary designs, patents, and original products. Their models have a distinctive look, and often have unique feature sets. They take good care of their users, have a strong reputation, and work hard to maintain it.

Ordering, shipping, and best prices

There was a time when the Razor E300 was priced below 300, although that was probably a temporary discount. Usually, it costs between 300 and 370, at least now, and the best place to get it from is Amazon for the US and possibly Canada, and the Amazon UK store for the UK and some European countries. Shipping is usually free, and the delivery times will vary but will never be longer than several days.

Optionally, if you want the version with the seat, which is the Razor E300S, you can also find it on Amazon.

Warranty and return policies

Razor scooters have a warranty period of 90 days on all parts, and as usual, the warranty doesn’t cover wear-and-tear damage.

There is a return period of 30 days for products purchased through the Razor store, and naturally, they have to be unused and in the original package. Also, the shipping costs are covered by the consumer in that case.

Unboxing, assembly, user manual

The box includes the scooter, the tools you will need for the assembly, the charger, the user manual, the warranty card, and the valve extender.

Assembly is required for the non-folding version and it involves connecting the stem to the deck and tightening all the screws and bolts. It takes about 5 minutes in total.

While the brakes will be adjusted, I recommend taking a few minutes to make sure they are set to your preferences.

The user manual is pretty useful, in that it contains both all the instructions you need, but also a few common defect scenarios and how to troubleshoot and fix them yourself if possible.

How to use the Razor E300?

If you are buying this scooter for a child, make sure you let your child know how to ride and use the scooter safely. I recommend going through the manual together, or you going through it and teaching your kid how to ride. Get them a safe scooter helmet as well, it’s really dangerous for anyone to be riding without a helmet, let alone your kid. Also, if the scooter needs to be left outside at times, it’s recommended to get at least a budget scooter lock.

The power button of the Razor E300 is located on the bottom of the deck. This is not so common in the electric scooter world, but there is a huge benefit to this – the handlebars can now be much simpler as they don’t need to host a dashboard, and they can be much sturdier. This is one of the best safety features of the scooter.

The scooter has only one gear, and is very simple to use.

It is possible to ride with your feet, although that will be neither practical nor fun.

One unique feature of the Razor E300 is the reset button, located right next to the power button on the deck. This button can prevent short circuits or frying the controller.

Folding and unfolding

The Razor E300 has (or at least used to have) a foldable and a non-foldable version.

The non-foldable version will have one less moving part, and will be a bit safer and more reliable in theory. However, that’s not a big win, since the folding mechanism on the foldable version is reliable, and what you get in return is a lot more portability. I believe the folding version to be a much better choice.

The foldable version of the Razor E300 has a pin folding mechanism, where you simply loosen the pin on the front to unlock the stem and be able to fold it.

Anyway, the foldable version of the scooter is not so common, and in fact, it may be even discontinued today, as I haven’t been seeing it in online stores all that much lately.

So you may not have a choice here, and it’s possible that the only option remaining today is the non-foldable Razor E300.

Design, durability, quality, and build materials

The Razor E300 has a unique design that truly makes it stand out from the crowd. One possible reason for that is tradition – this model has been available for quite some time now, and since it’s been pretty successful, Razor has decided to not change the winning team and not mess with the design too much between versions.

Besides design, the scooter is unique in many other ways, both form and function.

Most importantly, it is one of the few chain-driven scooters, and while that has its pros and cons, the Razor E300 is probably the most famous chain-driven scooter today, so that seems to be going well for Razor quite well.

Also, instead of the now common lithium-ion batteries, the Razor sticks to its lead-acid batteries.

And still, probably the most interesting difference is the build material.

Instead of using aluminum alloy as most scooters do, the Razor E300 is actually made of steel in large part. Steel! Some may view it as a bug, but I consider that a feature – steel will add to its weight, but also to its stability, reliability, and durability. And since this is a scooter for children primarily, safety comes first, so that’s a good design decision.

Usually the scooter comes available in three colors: blue, white, and grey.

All in all, the Razor E300 is actually a pretty well-made scooter. There is almost no “chinesium”, mostly good quality materials, nice welding, and good finishes and attention to detail.

Safety

The build quality, design, and features of the scooter make it pretty safe. The top speed is not that great, and it is within the legal speed limit for electric scooters in most places. The brakes are very good as well, and cut the motor power when activated.

One thing that you will have to buy as an addition to make this scooter safe and road legal, is a head and a tail light. This is especially true if you plan to ride at night.

Everyday use and ride experience

The 9-inch pneumatic tires are one of the strongest sides of the Razor E300, and they will provide a stable, fun ride.

This scooter is very often described as “fun”, and the main reason behind it is its fairly low defect rate. Sure, major defects can happen, but they are not common, and users enjoy their scooters a lot. One common theme I noticed was parents buying this scooter for their child, and the child being in love with it.

The motor of the scooter produces a semi-loud “whuzzz” sound. It’s actually louder than most other scooters, which may be a net win in busy cities, as many pedestrians complain that they collide with scooterists because they can’t even hear the scooter coming.

Top speed

The top speed of the Razor E300 is 15 mph / 24 kmh. This is fast enough for most of the intended users of this scooter, and within the legal speed limit of most places. The top speed may be less for riders closer to the weight limit of 220 lbs / 100 kg.

Range

The Razor E300 has a range of about 10 Mi / 16 km, or about 35-40 minutes of continuous riding. This range will be realistic in most scenarios, but some riders in some circumstances will get less.

This is one of the weakest points of this scooter in my opinion. It will be enough for a younger rider to have tons of fun with it, no doubt, but it will be very difficult to commute with this scooter.

Climbing hills

Climbing hills is an area where the Razor E300 is decent for its price. You will not be conquering Mount Everest with it, but it will do a solid job on mild and some moderate hills. The scooter will struggle with steeper inclines and may not be able to climb them without some kick assistance.

Terrains and use cases

The primary use case of the Razor E300S is for teenagers in urban settings, on roads and streets.

That said, this scooter has surprisingly little trouble going offroad a bit, and things like grass, dirt, gravel, and some trails, may not challenge it at all. We might say this is a “light-offroad” scooter, as it will still not be prepared for true offroad rides. This is probably the cheapest scooter that can handle offroad rides, even if they are not the most brutal ones.

Water resistance

The Razor E300 has no official IP rating. While the battery and electronics are well protected, some of the parts (some small screws, kickstand, possibly the chain) may suffer from corrosion. In summary, the scooter will not play well with water, and while some users have ridden it through light rain, riding in the rain should be avoided.

Lights and riding at night

Out of the box, the Razor E300 comes with no lights. It is recommended you get some after-market light so that the scooter is not completely useless at night for you or your child.

Check out the post on electric scooter accessories, or take a look at some inexpensive extra-bright headlights and rear lights on Amazon.

Weight, dimensions, and portability

The Razor E300 weighs 43 lbs / 19.5 kg.

The bulk of the weight comes from the 2 lead-acid batteries, but the steel frame contributes a lot as well.

The scooter has pretty average dimensions, with measurements: 41 x 17 x 42 in / 104 x 43 x 107 cm (L x W x H).

Generally, it is not foldable, or possibly, the foldable version has been discontinued.

The lack of foldability, coupled with the rather large weight, means this scooter cannot be considered portable. Lifting it and carrying it will not be that difficult for short periods of time, maybe even by a child, but that’s about all this scooter allows.

Unless you have the foldable version, you will not really be able to put this scooter in the average car trunk.

Weight limit

The weight limit of the Razor E300 is 220 lbs / 100 kg. That makes it suitable for kids, but also for most adults as well, and many adults have chosen it as their scooter because of that.

Rider age, children and adult usage

The recommended rider age for the Razor E300 is 13 or older. That corresponds to its target market, which is 13 kids/teenagers, and possibly young adults.

The Razor E300 has both high enough deck-to-handlebar height, and big enough weight capacity, to support an adult, and even slightly taller people or people weighing close to 220 lbs / 100 kg have not reported many issues riding this scooter.

Motor, chains, power, and torque

This is one of the few electric scooters today that doesn’t come with a hub motor (hub motor is a motor integrated within the scooter wheel itself).

Instead, the Razor E300 has a chain-drive motor placed inside the deck, and it uses chains to translate the rotor movement to the wheels.

Traditionally, hub motors are considered to be more modern and less prone to defects. However, the Razor E300’s motor has proven to be extremely reliable over time, much more so than many hub motors in other scooters. So in this case, that rule of thumb doesn’t really hold.

One good thing about chain-driven motors is that they can often be adjusted in many ways to manipulate their torque. In theory, adjusting the chain length or the sprocket size lets you change the top speed, energy efficiency, and RPMs of your scooter. This scooter in particular offers a fairly easy way to adjust the chain length, and you can customize your scooter for more torque or more efficiency as you need.

A possible downside with chains is that they can come off, or break completely. While only a tiny percentage of users report this, you should be aware that it can happen.

Also, the chain will require some extra maintenance that a hub motor wouldn’t.

The motor produces a power output of 250 Watts.

Battery and charging

The Razor E300 has 2 batteries of 12 Volts each, serially connected for a total battery voltage of 24 Volts. The battery is lead-acid, instead of the more common lithium-ion. That means charging will take longer, 12 hours in this case.

That is one of the main downsides to this scooter, it takes a long time to charge, despite the range not being that big. Because of that, some users decide to replace the lead-acid batteries with lithium-ion ones, and they pretty much all never look back.

The battery should not be left to drain completelly.

The charging port is on the deck, right next to the power button. As usual, the indicator light on the charger will be red while the scooter is charging, and green when the scooter is fully charged. You should still charge for 12 hours, even if the light turns green sooner.

One thing this scooter is missing is a battery meter. There is no way to tell how much juice you have left. However, given that the range is not really big, you can probably never really get stranded anywhere too far away.

How to replace the battery on the Razor E300 electric scooter?

A major downside with lead-acid batteries is their shorter lifespan than the li-ion models. The battery’s capacity gets significantly lowered after two years of usage, and you might want to replace it with a new one.

  • Remove the deck cover by unscrewing the 8 screws that hold it tight
  • Remove the old batteries by disconnecting the wires that go to the controller and the motor
  • Install the new batteries, placing the battery with the longer wire on the rear side, and connect the wires in the same way as the old batteries
  • Reinstall the deck cover back

Here is a quick video to guide you through this process:

The scooter comes with a single drum brake on the rear wheel, connected with a cable to the brake lever. The lever is located where you would expect it, on the left handlebar.

The brake is excellent, and provides a very short stopping distance. It can be adjusted for sensitivity both at the nut near the brake lever, or on the nut on the wheel itself.

Tires and wheels

The diameter of the tires is 9 inches, and they are very wide as well, which makes them much bigger than most scooter tires today. That means more comfortable, bump-free rides (although that’s not without a price as bigger tires drain the battery faster).

The scooter’s tires can handle some light offroad rides, like grass or gravel, as they are sufficiently big and with deep enough treads.

The tires come with vent spews which can be used to evaluate the tire’s condition. When many of the tiny hairs disappear, the tire is likely worn out and may need replacement. You can expect one to two years of usage from the tires, assuming normal use.

The tires can be inflated with a regular air pump for bike tires. The valve for the tires is actually hidden in the right handlebar itself.

Control and handlebars

The default throttle is a twist-throttle. The throttle may have a somewhat jerky acceleration, as it’s not a gradual throttle mechanism, more like an on/off switch.

There is a thumb throttle available for the scooter as well, which, in my opinion, is a far better way to ride, and it will give you variable speed depending on how hard you press.

Deck

The deck is pretty big, wide enough to be comfortable for most people, adults included.

The back of the deck is lifted to allow a better resting position for the rear foot. The ground clearance is large enough to even climb some sidewalks (although that should be avoided).

The deck has a grip tape on most of its surface that prevents slipping.

Parts and maintenance

The main difference users care about between hub motor scooters chain-driven ones is maintenance.

You will have to periodically check that the chain is in place, in good condition, and well-oiled.

Spare parts for the Razor E300, including customizations and after-market upgrades, are widely available, and very, very cheap.

Customizations

One very cool thing about the Razor E300 is that it can support a lot of customizations and upgrades. In a way, the scooter comes as sort of a bare-bones version, but you can beef it up with a lot of different features that you like or need.

Upgrading the chain, for example, requires a bit of know-how, but can provide so much more performance that you will not believe it’s the same scooter. Coupled with a stronger motor, which is another common customization for the Razor E300, would make it as powerful as scooters priced above 1000. That is simply amazing.

Another common point of customization is replacing the default lead-acid battery with lithium-ion ones, or adding more batteries. The scooter will not support any and all kinds of changes here, and obviously, be sure you know what you’re doing if your tinkering with the batteries. Check out this video for a great example of how to upgrade the batteries of the Razor E300.

The Razor E300 is fairly reliable and can last for quite a long time. The defect rate, especially the major defect rate, is low. Defects can happen, but often they are easily addressed by the owner simply advising the manual. There are many instances where owners use their E300s for years.

How fast is the Razor E300?

The top speed of the Razor E300 is 15 mph / 24 kmh. The scooter is capable of going faster, but modifications to the battery or the chain system will be necessary.

How long does it take for the Razor E300 to charge?

The Razor E300 should take up to 12 hours to charge, although that time can be even longer in some cases as the battery ages.

Do you charge a Razor scooter on or off?

The scooter should be turned OFF when charging.

The scooter should be turned off all the time when not in use. If it’s left turned on for a longer period, the battery may reach a stage at which it will no longer hold a charge.

Can you overcharge a Razor scooter?

The charger has built-in overcharging protection, so overcharging is not a problem. Only the original charger should be used for recharging. It is normal for the charger to get a bit hot while charging, although not extremely hot.

razor, e300, electric, scooter, review, lacks

How long does Razor E300 battery last?

The battery of the Razor E300 will last between 35 and 40 minutes of continuous riding, or 6 miles / 10 kilometers. For heavier riders, or when riding across hills, the battery will last less than that.

How many batteries does a Razor E300 have?

The Razor E300 has 2 lead-acid batteries of 12 Volts each, connected in series, for a total of 24 Volts.

Can the Razor E300 go up hills?

Razor E300 will climb mild hills, will have some difficulties with moderate hills, and will really struggle and possibly fail with steeper hills. The official climb angle is unknown.

Is the Razor E300 a toy?

The Razor E300 is a scooter primarily meant for teenagers, but adults can, and do, ride it very frequently.

I do see this question thrown around quite a lot, and it may be done so in a joking manner, but still, you probably wouldn’t want your 7-year old speeding 15 mph down the road, would you? So, no, this scooter is not a toy.

Can adults ride the Razor E300?

Adults can, and often do, ride the Razor E300, as it has enough weight capacity to handle adults up to 220 lbs / 100 kg, and also the handlebars are tall enough and the deck is wide enough.

Who is the Razor E300 not for?

This is not a short list. And that’s fine, since Razor obviously knows their target audience and serves it well. Still, there are quite a few categories of people for whom the Razor E300 is simply not an ideal scooter.

Let’s start with commuters. Not only is the range of 10 Mi / 16 km (maybe even less in the real world) unacceptable, but the weight of 43 lbs / 19 kg will make carrying the Razor E300 in buses, subway stations, and through elevators and doors, a real chore. If you need your scooter for commuting, you should check out the review of the GoTrax GXL V2 Commuter, it is a much better choice for adults that need to commute.

Related, the non-foldable version of the scooter is not really portable, and unfortunately, it seems to be the predominantly available version right now. Not only can you not fold it to carry it, but it won’t fit in the usual places you need it to fit, like under your office desk or in the trunk of your car. Take a look at the guide on portable scooters if that’s what you need.

Oh, and it kinda weighs a lot. I don’t want to tell Razor what to do, since they obviously know what they are doing, but it seems like they could make a huge win by releasing a scooter similar to the Razor E300 but with a lithium-ion battery instead of a lead-acid one. The users already love this scooter, and they would also get both longer range, smaller weight, and faster charging times. Well, it is what it is, who knows maybe they’ll read this and get inspired.

The slow charge times will not be loved by anyone. Maybe not such a dealbreaker, but certainly not something users love.

The weight limit of 220 lbs / 100 kg will be enough for most people, but if you or the person you’re buying for weighs more than that, you will want to check out other options, like some scooters for heavy adults.

Finally, the scooter lacks IP protection, and some parts seem like they might go rusty if exposed to too much water. This scooter will not be a good fit for anyone living in a rainy area. Take a look at the waterproof electric scooters if you live in such a place.

Who is the Razor E300 for?

While there are quite a few people that will find the Razor E300 insufficient in some way, it will be a great fit for many people too.

First, obviously, this is a great scooter for children, and teenagers especially. It is, after all, what it was meant to do, and it’s arguably the best children’s scooter in the world at the moment.

Related, this scooter is the perfect gift, and not only for a teenager. It’s fairly inexpensive as scooters go, and for one reason or another, it has been gifted quite frequently. If you are considering a cool, modern gift for your child or a loved one, the Razor E300 makes great sense.

While the price of this scooter changes from time to time, it’s usually somewhere between 300 and 350. It is good value for both of those prices, especially for around 300.

Verdict

Is the Razor E300 the best electric scooter for adults? No. There are other 300 scooters that will be a better choice.

Is the Razor E300 at least a good choice for an adult? Meh, it might be an ok choice in some cases.

Is the Razor E300 a good scooter for a kid over 13?

It does what it was originally designed for, and it does its job well. If you are thinking of getting your children a gift, or simply just getting them a cool device they can use and have great fun with, consider the Razor E300, they are almost guaranteed to love it.

Where to buy the Razor 300 from?

The best place to get the Razor 300 from is Amazon for the US, and the Amazon UK listing for the UK and EU. The Razor store usually has good coverage of many countries, shipping times should be minimal, and the are as low as possible.

If you want to get the Razor E300, but with a seat, you will want the Razor E300S. This scooter can also be found on Amazon.

Want to get FREE SCOOTER tips, exclusive discounts and promotions, and unseen scooter hacks? Join the Scooter Secrets club.

Leave a Comment